“The Time Has Come” Said The Walrus

To paraphrase the great Chinese philosopher Lao Tzu ” A Journey of 365 blogs starts with a single word”. I have reached the end of that journey and with some 40,000 viewers over that period have decided to call time.

The delights of warmer climes and an upcoming grandchild mean my time in Puglia will be much restricted. We already spend the necessary 6 months out for tax reasons but over the next few years the house will be a holiday home during the hot months only. To try, therefore, to blog about a place you  are hardly in seems unfair on all the readers.

It is also no coincidence that Puglia is adopting the tag line ” slow” to describe the place for tourism purposes and as so little changes and any blog starts to become repetitive.

Thank you for following me and I hope some of what I have written about the place has been useful to you . I have enjoyed it but I am now heeding John Mortimer of Rumpole fame who said ” “The only rule I have found to have any validity in writing is not to bore yourself.” and certainly not to bore your readers I would add.

It is for me, in the words of the immortal, Max Bygraves  like coming to the end of a lollipop !

Devo andare adesso. Addio

 

 

About hereinpuglia

Retired to Puglia after some 40 years in the travel industry working for P&O Lines, British Airways, Alamo rent-a-car,Abercrombie&Kent, owner of Quest Tours and Travel and finally with Thomas Cook North America. Married to Geraldine we now have a small house with too much land near the town of Martina Franca in Puglia. Two kids one married and living in Hong Kong and the other single and living in London. No dogs, no cats no animals.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “The Time Has Come” Said The Walrus

  1. Billy & Martine says:

    Boo, hoo blubber, we’ll miss your brilliant blog Mike.xx

  2. Sue Marsh says:

    Mike, it has been a great pleasure we will miss you but wish you much happiness with your continuing travels and family.

  3. Nancy says:

    Mike – Having found your blog only recently, I am sorry to see it end. I have come to look forward to seeing your latest entry pop up in my email Inbox. I hope that you will at least consider an occasional entry to keep your followers updated on your latest travels, etc.

    Wishing you health and happiness.

    Very best regards,

    Nancy Kurdyla

  4. Jane Grayson says:

    Mike, thank you, have enjoyed your blog, best wishes for the future Jane Grayson

  5. Trudi Walmsley says:

    Mike, having followed your blog for many months you were beginning to feel like an old friend. I’ll miss your posts, which were always informative, entertaining and full of humour. Like you, my husband and I have travelled the world for many years but we have had a house near Martina Franca for about the last 7. We love it there, go as often as we can, and look forward to spending more time there in the future. I eagerly anticipated opening your posts and snatching a little glimpse of life in southern Italy, even with its occasional frustrations. As Nancy says, I do hope you feel like tossing the odd blog your readers’ way every now and again. There must be many who’d enjoy keeping up with your travels, even intermittently.

    Wishing you all the best,

    Trudi Walmsley

  6. ‘veni, scripsi, vadi’

    Thoroughly enjoyed your insights into Puglian life and helping us stay connected with a place we love.

    Have a great time and maybe see you next summer.

    Ciao, ciao

    Robin & Liz

  7. Shannon Esposito says:

    Ciao Mike, As an American who used to be stationed in San Vito 1981-83 I have appreciated reading your blog. I was able to be reminded of so many things I loved, but also of how many things also stay the same after so many years, for me that is one of the things I most appreciate about Puglia Best Wishes in continuing that wonderful lifestyle you and your wife have created for yourselves, I find it very inspiring. Congrats on the grandchild on the way. It is honestly the best thing in life!!!.

  8. Roberta Leddy says:

    Will so miss your insightful blog which was something I really looked forward to every evening as I enjoyed the diversity, wit & quirkiness! Also, still appreciate your both taking the time put to meet me a couple of summers ago in Ostuni – your least favourite place so all the more appreciated! Anyway all the best, was wondering who will fill the void so am so pleased you are starting a new blog, can’t wait! All the best in this your new stage in Life! Ciao! Roberta

Leave a Reply

