Heidi Ho

I know, missing in action yesterday. Actually my Italian lesson over ran and as I was going out in the evening I ran out of time.

I decided the other day to try a few lessons . There is a lady around the corner who is a teacher of english at the school in Grottaglie. She lived in the UK for several years and hails originally from the North of Italy so her Italian is more pure than down here where it gets mixed and often pronounced more like a dialect. She is not working to a book or strict lessons but is helping me build vocabulary and verbs in a more practical way for actually living here. Things like a list of tools. Italian workmen tend to turn up without half the tools they need and most of the day they are here is spent by me chasing around firstly trying to understand what they want and then finding it in my chaotic shed.

We over ran because she was assessing my level of proficiency. She seems to think that there is a platform to build on. Rickety , missing several planks and almost no foundations but something.

The trouble is Italians don’t really do confrontation and certainly not insults ( unless they are driving). They do shouting and gestures but I’m not sure they ever say it as it is. You know “Mike you are wasting your time, go learn Serbo Croat “. Still I’m a sucker for flattery so have booked some more lessons.

Talking on over running meetings .When I was working for British Airways in the USA the new president Americas , eager to impress started to hold ever earlier morning meetings. We finally got to 6.45.a.m starts which given that all the heads of department bar him commuted in for at least an hour, was early. The Head of Cargo who lived way way out on Long Island arrived the second morning at just before 7 a.m. . ” Sorry John” he said with a  completely straight face to the boss ” my 5.30 a.m. meeting over ran “.

My teacher is unusual in that she has moved a long way to take a job in a school in the south. Italians don’t do moving for jobs normally. Family ties, are the main reason though being so provincial most Italians are fearful of going even a few hundred miles to set up again and find work. The Head of IBM was bemoaning this on a visit to Italy the other day. Italy he reckons is, if it had better internet speed,  where working from home should really take off as IBM find it hard to get talented people to move. They love their home comforts he reckons especially younger boys and by that here he means up to 40+ years.

I am reminded of the 36 year old American female blogger in Naples who is fed up with meeting 40 year old Italian males who still live with Mamma. Why not get an apartment she asks when they come back for ” coffee” after a date. Who would do my washing and cooking is the instant reply .

Long before Booker T and the MGs. The Count did the number.

My mobile phone provider is Vodafone Italia,. the vagaries of the strength of signal in Puglia especially in the countryside means I have Vodafone reception at the front of the house and Tre (3) at the back and my house is small I hasten to add.

They have a summer ad campaign going on TV at the moment and this is it

Two things about the ad. One is that they have a deal with Spotify who have arrived in Italy for a reduced premium date of €6.99  rather than €9.99 though my experience with Vodafone is that you will need to study the fine print with a group of lawyers to understand it. Their Internet deal is ” Senza Limiti” Without Limit and then tucked down in the fine print is “only Senza Limiti up to 500 MB” !!

However what really caught my eye are the guys with those boards that shot them in the air. What are they. I’ve got to have one.

Luckily I was browsing one of the sites I read aptly called ” Now I know Why I’m Bankrupt” which sells you all kinds of “cool’ gadgets and they have one for a mere US$68,000. A snip I call that.

However help is at hand as the company that make those have a new product out at US$9,999.

It can shoot you 30 feet in the air and move you along at over 30 m.p.h. Wow.

They don’t mention that you need a jet ski to attach the tube to mind you which will set you back a few bucks more.

Not sure I can fit it all in my 3mx2m paddling pool but I have found this which looks more my scene and is so much cheaper.

Wonder if he delivers to Italy?

Enjoy your weekend.

 

 

 

About hereinpuglia

Retired to Puglia after some 40 years in the travel industry working for P&O Lines, British Airways, Alamo rent-a-car,Abercrombie&Kent, owner of Quest Tours and Travel and finally Thomas Cook. Married to Geraldine we now have a small house with too much land near the town of Martina Franca in Puglia. Two kids one married and living in Hong Kong and the other single and living in London. No dogs, no cats no animals.
This entry was posted in Expat in Italy, Expat Italy, Puglia, Puglia Beaches, Puglia Cooking, Puglia Food, Puglia Guide, Puglia Lifestyle, Puglia Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

