Hey Ho

According to the Urban Dictionary hey ho is an expression used when things don’t go according to plan. It goes on to say that saying it somehow dispels the feeling of disappointment .

Today was billed the hottest day of the year so far with a cloudless sky and light winds. Oh the joy I thought let’s head for the beach and leave all this gardening improvements for another day. So the top came off the Suzuki for the first time this year and I loaded up the beast with gear for a roasting hot day on the sand.

I had been reading at the weekend about ” songs of summer” and what makes them become the anthem of a particular year. It seems like holiday romances they are songs that don’t last the onset of the first autumn showers but they must be almost numbingly repetitive and easy to sing along to.

Sounds like my type of music I thought and stuck a few on the playlist. I am old enough to remember Cliff Richard and the Shadows in Summer Holiday on a red double decker bus going to Greece but they seem to think it really started with the Beach Boys  Fun Fun Fun and I wouldn’t argue with that . Boy did I want a T-bird.

However the song of summer quickly became a song that you danced to under the stars on an hot mediterranean night. Oh who can forget the Macarena.

So with Los del Rio echoing in our ears on the stereo  we headed to the beach. I had managed to forget to load the brand new sunshade  in my haste to be off and with such scorching temperatures forecast I toyed on arrival at the beach with renting one from the friendly beach boy  but something whispered don’t . Call it premonition and meanness of course. €12 for an umbrella I ask you is that right, is that right?

Within an hour the wind got up and the clouds rolled over covering the sun. This really isn’t a great summer this year. Hey ho er no it doesn’t help Urban Dictionary.

Footballs fans amongst you will know that Italy face Uruguay tonight and must draw or win to stay in. As my new team following England’s rather rapid demise, this post will be short to allow me time to don the t shirt and hat as well as wave the flag a few times before kick off in 15 minutes.

Those of you that aren’t will be pleased to know that that stalwart of an English summer has started at Wimbledon and Brindisi has Flavia Pennetta flying the flag for Puglia again this year.

Flavia_Pennetta_3

Maybe I could get interested in this tennis stuff after all.

She is currently ranked number 12 in the world and won though yesterday against Jana Cepelova. With all the British entrants doing their usual fast exits “gutted” etc Flavia might mean me changing countries yet again.

I read today that over 200,000 glasses of Pimms will be sold over the next two weeks

There will also be 28,000 kgs of strawberries sold as well. the strawberries are picked the day before so they can be husked and then delivered to the Tournament at 5.30 a.m. each morning ready for sale. A punt of ” no less than 10 strawberries” will cost £2.50 this year.

I only went once to Wimbledon as the guest of Hertz Rent a Car. They had an huge tent for entertaining and alongside each place serving for lunch was a centre court ticket and a Court Number One ticket . Not being a fan of tennis and after a rather fine lunch with a seemingly bottomless wine bottle I happily gave up my tickets to others making me hugely popular. I then settled in to watch the Test Match with the same bottomless wine bottle at my side.

The rest of the day is fairly blurred and the next clear event I remember was waking up at Earls Court tube station where it seemed I had dozed off on a bench a few hours before whilst attempting to change trains.

 

About hereinpuglia

Retired to Puglia after some 40 years in the travel industry working for P&O Lines, British Airways, Alamo rent-a-car,Abercrombie&Kent, owner of Quest Tours and Travel and finally Thomas Cook. Married to Geraldine we now have a small house with too much land near the town of Martina Franca in Puglia. Two kids one married and living in Hong Kong and the other single and living in London. No dogs, no cats no animals.
This entry was posted in Expat in Italy, Expat Italy, Italian Living, Puglia, Puglia Beaches, Puglia Lifestyle, Puglia Living, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

