Sunshine and Lollipops

Puglia went to the seaside yesterday according to the newspaper this morning. After the  “disappointing” May ( their word not mine. Mine would have been a tad stronger) Summer arrived and off they all went.

Torre Canne

Despite the wind most ventured into the sea so they were braver souls than me.

Brindisi was off limits for traffic this weekend not because of beach goers but the Third Annual Negroamaro Wine Festival.

NWF

Now this is my favourite grape down here so intially I was sorry I didn’t know about it but then reading of the traffic chaos I began to be pleased I hadn’t.

The police were out in force on the roads away from Brindisi busy breathalyzing  motorists and the limit here is much less than the UK. Mind you if the wine festival is anything like the Beer festivals down here unless you have a wallet full of euros you would be hard pressed to be able afford to get tipsy. Still as the thing is still going on this week if you are going apart from the three or four DDs ( Designated Drunks) you better take a driver with you.

Talking of grapes one of the off shoots from them is dried grapes or raisins, or is it sultanas, or is it currants? I was faced with this looking at a recipe this afternoon . It called for raisins but the shop here only had sultanas. Out with the trusty Google search on the iPad. Ah ha currants are dried black grapes. Sultanas are dried seedless white grapes and raisins are dried white grapes with seeds. So now you know

What recipe was I looking at and why you are desperate to know now aren’t you ? No well hard luck I’m going to tell you anyway.

When researching last night for my new book The Loneliness of the Long Distance Strimmer, with apologies to Alan Sillitoe who wrote his about a runner but only I’m sure because strimmers weren’t invented. Otherwise I would be searching for a new title.

Much more fun if they all had strimmers don’t you think ?

Anyway one of the things I found out was I am supposed to wear ear muffs when strimming similar to the ones worn by the people you see walking alongside the aircraft at airports. Now when I worked on the tarmac pushing back De Havillande Tridents at Oporto Airport ( not literally you understand) such luxuries weren’t heard off ( must be a pun there)  and I certainly still do not own a pair now. However I do own a rather fine set of headphones. You know the ones that cut out all outside noise so you can enjoy the music . Brilliant I thought just the job so on they went when I started this morning. However rather than just wear them I added my iPod and did a playlist for strimming to. This is chapter three of the book by the way.

I thought that lugging around a 9 kilo strimmer would require some uplifting music so included plenty of tracks that I had for the Queen’s Golden Jubilee playlist a couple of years back. You know non patriotic stuff like Land of Hope and Glory, The Dam Busters March, Rule Britannia. The music we have plagued unsuspecting neighbours with around the world on various postings on the very rare occasions England won a World Cup soccer game or beat the Aussies at cricket or the Kiwis at rugby. Actually that reminds me I must dig it out again next Saturday for the England v Italy World Cup game, well you never know do you? Mind you I’ll keep plenty of Pavarotti handy as well.

A tank of fuel lasts 1 hour 20 mins on my Castor brush cutter so I have the playlist planned around that with more rousing stuff towards the end as I fade. One fav is Chariots of Fire as I can then imagine myself heading for the finish line.

Anyway the Jubilee playlist got me thinking about my left over chicken in the fridge from Saturday night ( well it would wouldn’t it) and what to do with it.

It was a short jump from Jubilee to Coronation and what do you need for Coronation Chicken but raisins. So now you know the rest of the story.

And Sunshine and Lollipops

Lesley Gore, in the film Ski Party 1965. Probably not a classic movie !! Mind you she was up against Dr. Zhivargo, A Few Dollars More, and another musical The Sound of Music that year.

About hereinpuglia

Retired to Puglia after some 40 years in the travel industry working for P&O Lines, British Airways, Alamo rent-a-car,Abercrombie&Kent, owner of Quest Tours and Travel and finally Thomas Cook. Married to Geraldine we now have a small house with too much land near the town of Martina Franca in Puglia. Two kids one married and living in Hong Kong and the other single and living in London. No dogs, no cats no animals.
This entry was posted in Driving in Italy, Expat in Italy, Expat Italy, Italian Living, Puglia, Puglia Beaches, Puglia Food, Puglia Guide, Puglia Lifestyle, Puglia Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunshine and Lollipops

  1. Really fun blog…and interesting too! Love the sunshine and lollipops🙂

Leave a Reply

