Statistic Sunday

“There are two kinds of statistics, the kind you look up and the kind you make up.” ~Rex Stout.

Now normally I take Sunday off as most Sundays we are either out to lunch or entertaining here and I spare the reader the drunken ramblings that the post would surely be ( what’s different I hear you say). However today we are out for dinner so no problems on the rambling front. But I will keep it short.

I came across some interesting stats in a book I am reading at the moment and thought I would share them with you.

I have blogged before about how most people ( me included) think Italy is a long country that runs North to South and indeed we all talk about the “north” and the “south when describing it. It is indeed long and Napoleon bemoaned it’s length when he invaded it.

However it runs diagonally rather than up and down. In the North West lies the town of Aosta where French is the language spoken by most of the population and in the South East is us lot down here in Puglia where a few miles to the south east Greek dialect is still spoken by most of the population.

Go stand on the walls of Otranto castle and you can on a clear day see the mountains of Albania and of Greece . Now a fact that surprised me is that Otranto is nearer Istanbul than it is to Aosta and the Black Sea is closer than the West coast of Sardinia . In fact we are closer to 17 foreign capitals than we are to say Turin and as Michael Cain famously never said ” not many people know that”.

Is it little wonder that most Pugliese don’t really connect with the rest of Italy and struggle to feel Italian . Indeed when ceded into the new country in 1861 most thought La Talia ( L’Italia) was the name of the new queen.

Anyway here endeth the lesson for today.  Sure I will have gleaned more stuff from the book by tomorrow so be warned.

I was right to forecast rain for today by the way. It didn’t disappoint but we had a really strange phenomenon at the house. You know people often say I feel I’ve got a black cloud hanging over me. Well guess what at about 10 a.m. this black cloud arrived and parked itself straight over the house. it was really weird . It stayed for about 3 hours then dropped some rain on us and moved onblack cloud

All around us was blue sky and on my walk I strode in sunshine in a t shirt until I got back again and there it still was.

Now to close I saw an article talking about Italian music and the fact that for years we haven’t even managed to get into the Eurovision Song Contest broadcast . It went on to say that few new Italian singers seem able to sing, but rather croak their way through songs or do a Rex Harrison and speak their way though songs. He added that this is probably the worst rendition of Va Pensiero ever

and I think he is probably right. Perhaps dear Zucchero should try doing a Rex

About hereinpuglia

Retired to Puglia after some 40 years in the travel industry working for P&O Lines, British Airways, Alamo rent-a-car,Abercrombie&Kent, owner of Quest Tours and Travel and finally Thomas Cook. Married to Geraldine we now have a small house with too much land near the town of Martina Franca in Puglia. Two kids one married and living in Hong Kong and the other single and living in London. No dogs, no cats no animals.
This entry was posted in Driving in Italy, Expat in Italy, Expat Italy, Istanbul, Puglia, Puglia Food, Puglia Guide, Puglia Lifestyle, Puglia Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

