Soggy Days Are Here Again

Well after tempting us with a small taste of Spring the weather returned to normal today, rain, wind, and low flying clouds. It is due to last for a week they say.

So after a very soggy walk I returned to the house realising that no work could be done outside today. The problem is that there is little to be done inside as I still await the colour decision for the two upstairs bedrooms from the higher authority ( my wife) . So apart from changing some Ikea light bulbs that seem to blow almost everyday ( built in obsolescence a little like their furniture ) the day stretched out before me. What to do?

I don’t do daytime T.V., because it wasn’t really around when we lived in England  I guess . I have seen it on visits in the last few years to my wife’s late mother and to my mother but I couldn’t get into it. You seem to have to either love Alan Titchmarsh as he is on all the channels  or enjoy very camp ex comedians now doing talk shows ( no I don’t mean Titchmarsh).

However to drag this post back to Puglia by the scruff of it’s neck the only programme I do enjoy watching in the afternoon there, are those re-runs of A Place in The Sun from back when the UK pound got 1.60 euros and getting the house in the Midlands re-morguaged was easier than falling off a log. As I watch I wonder what ever happened to the couples one sees sitting in the garden of a trulli here in Puglia sipping flutes of Proseco while the lovely Amanda told them that with rental rates the way they were the place would rent for an eye watering amount and they would be debt free in just two years. And she would add as their eyes turned cartoon like into £ signs you will be able to spend April here each year and that is beautiful month weatherise in Puglia !

So instead I decided to catch up on the back copies of the Spectator which are on the Kindle. They are still there because I have re-discovered Colin Dexter and the Morse novels. I tried one in the 80’s but it must have been for a long haul flight and business trip. Ducking in and out of a crime story doesn’t really work and so I dismissed him as an author for me. However with plenty of time on a beach lounger this winter and even more time with the April weather in Puglia I am racing through the entire collection.

Whilst reading I have one ear listening to the Italian radio station . They are doing a phone in and it seems almost nobody is actually working this week. We have yet another holiday on Friday and so most seem to have decided to do un ponte ( a bridge ) and get a week for just 3 days vacation. The guy just on was doing that. He works for Alitalia he said. Ah I thought ask him about Etihad and the merger but no these days there is a far more important question for radio presenters ” have you met a celebrity recently?” ” Oh yes” he replied ” George Osborne” . There was a pregnant silence from the presenter known for his left wing leanings and then he moved on without comment to what song he wanted to hear.

Actually phone ins and Italian radio presenters are a bit of an oxymoron  because male presenters love the sound of their own voices. I don’t know the number of songs played say on a 3 hour programme in the UK or North America but I bet we get half the number of songs while the D-J ( are they still called that as it’s all CDs isn’t it) chats on endlessly. Many here invent another voice, normally high pitched, and then conduct interviews with themselves much to their own enjoyment. Some do have one of those sidekicks that sit and laugh at the presenters “jokes” like Jonathan Ross used to have as did Johnny Carson.

Still all the chat must be good for my Italian as you certainly get plenty of words tossed your way during the programme. My Duolingo exercises at the moment are on food and that is one of the top subjects on the radio. Within a minute of someone phoning in the presenter has asked the all important question what are you eating today . I heard a D-J on Capital the other day ask a British recording artist that question. The guy once the question was translated for him seemed confused so the presenter repeated it adding helpfully “for lunch”. Bravely I thought the performer said I’m on here to promote my new C.D. not talk about lunch. No he just didn’t get the culture here did he.

My god it has just stopped raining maybe I should change my headline

 

 

About hereinpuglia

Retired to Puglia after some 40 years in the travel industry working for P&O Lines, British Airways, Alamo rent-a-car,Abercrombie&Kent, owner of Quest Tours and Travel and finally with Thomas Cook North America. Married to Geraldine we now have a small house with too much land near the town of Martina Franca in Puglia. Two kids one married and living in Hong Kong and the other single and living in London. No dogs, no cats no animals.
This entry was posted in Expat in Italy, Expat Italy, Puglia Cooking, Puglia Food, Puglia Guide, Puglia Lifestyle, Puglia Living, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

