Martina Franca to Rome

I’m on the other blog click here to read about my journey

Thanks

Mike

About hereinpuglia

Retired to Puglia after some 40 years in the travel industry working for P&O Lines, British Airways, Alamo rent-a-car,Abercrombie&Kent, owner of Quest Tours and Travel and finally Thomas Cook. Married to Geraldine we now have a small house with too much land near the town of Martina Franca in Puglia. Two kids one married and living in Hong Kong and the other single and living in London. No dogs, no cats no animals.
This entry was posted in Driving in Italy, Expat Italy, Puglia, Puglia Guide, Puglia Lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Martina Franca to Rome

  1. Dawn Inskip says:

    Hi. My partner and I (he’s actually Sicilian) live on the Greek island of Paxos at the moment but are considering a move to Puglia, specifically the Ceglie, Cisternino area. My concern is that getting to know like-minded people maybe difficult. Apart from the obvious Italian lessons for me, where I assume I’ll meet other ex pats, what is there to do and where is there to go to get my social life off to a good start. Toty will fit right in straight away, he does anywhere he goes! I particularly enjoy walking and gardening. Any clubs covering those two activities, please? Or any other suggestions?
    Filakia, as we say here in Greece
    Dawn

    • hereinpuglia says:

      I am in Vietnam at the moment escaping the vagaries of the Puglian winter and hopefully before you decide to move you will try time in Puglia in winter.
      If you haven’t found it puglia posse forum is a good place to meet expats and discuss things. I don’t know of any walking or gardening groups in this area but maybe you could start one. There aren’t that many expats in the Ceglie area especially in winter and many are fairly integrated into the italian life with Italian friends etc. Jayne Miller has an English book lending club and so expats do gather there the third wednesday every month. Learning the language is essential as few locals speak any english. Let me know if you need any help. Mike

Leave a Reply

