Giro ( Trip)

Now never would I dare to suggest that as you  have read of the weather here in the last four days that you might be tempted to feel a little schadenfreude. I do, of course, when ever I read of bad weather elsewhere but you reader I’m sure it would have never entered your head. The Italians like the English don’t seem to have a word for it though maligno maybe in it’s gloating sense is the closest.

Suffice to say this morning dawned clear and blue skied so much so that I was politely asked to leave the house for most of the day as almost a week of washing was to be done . The washing machine has always remained out of bounds for me . I seem to struggle with defining coloured or dark clothes and mess the piles up. It also appears that my engaging conversation and quick wit plus helpful suggestions on ways to improve the various tasks are not always as warmly received as I expect.

So I went to the seaside to enjoy what was a 25C ( 77F) day. I went first to Villanova  Small Beaches

 

and found it completely deserted. The little beach I use was still clean and so I settled down to read sitting on the deckchair . Occasionally I glanced around and marveled at the miles of empty beach area in either direction. However after about 15mins I heard a motor boat and watched it drive past my inlet.. I heard it go on fading into the distance and then heard it coming back some minutes later. Quite soon it was back at my inlet and there it stopped dropped anchor and the two guys started quite noisily to fish.  Now there can be no other reason for them to return to my area other than the Italian love of being together.  Twenty minutes later a car came bouncing down the track. I again watch it in the distance and followed it as it passed numerous inlets just like  mine until finally it stopped alongside my jeep and three people got out and came and sat a few feet from me.

Fifteen minutes after that from the other direction came another car and no guesses for where they parked.  So with some 3 miles of empty beach in either direction I now had five people on my little beach and two guys in a boat some 50 feet off it.  One of the latest arrivals then pulled out his mobile phone and even with my limited Italian it was evident he was calling up reinforcements and giving precise directions. He even mentioned the jeep as a landmark to look for.

The noise volume grew as panini were handed around and one guy went to the headland to engage the fishermen in conversation . I decided to go to Torre Canne instead.

Deserted Beach

 

As you can see there was just nowhere to sit on the beach ! 25C and four people there. I felt like racing back to my original beach and telling them to come here to make up the numbers. The only problem with the beach now is that there are no lido open to clean the beach area so the rubbish that is seemingly happily abandoned by each family visiting begins to clutter the beach and the sea breeze moves it around.

Conscious that I couldn’t return till 4 p.m. I stopped just to the east of Cisternino on an escarpment covered in pine trees. it is superb walking as you are off the beaten track and away from traffic.

pine wood

 

There are plenty of these types of walking areas around us and the only thing you have to watch for are stray dogs. Unfortunately there are still plenty around as the start of the hunting season causes many would be hunting dogs that don’t make the grade to be abandoned to add to the clear out of guard dogs from  summer houses at the end of the season. I follow Joseph Stalin’s advice when I come across them and talk quietly but carry a big stick

Our house guests flew back to the UK today after 3 days up in the Gargano peninsular. I have never been up there but from what they have said in their e mails it seems well worth a visit. Roy has promised to pen a few words on his trip when he gets home. So hold the front page as we say.

About hereinpuglia

Retired to Puglia after some 40 years in the travel industry working for P&O Lines, British Airways, Alamo rent-a-car,Abercrombie&Kent, owner of Quest Tours and Travel and finally with Thomas Cook North America. Married to Geraldine we now have a small house with too much land near the town of Martina Franca in Puglia. Two kids one married and living in Hong Kong and the other single and living in London. No dogs, no cats no animals.
This entry was posted in Driving in Italy, Expat Italy, Puglia, Puglia Beaches, Puglia Cooking, Puglia Food, Puglia Guide, Puglia Lifestyle, Puglia Living, Puglia Travel Information and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Giro ( Trip)

  1. Billy Macmillan says:

    Big stick – Roosevelt Mike.

  2. royburnham says:

    Someone on the aircraft told me that the weather you had was the end of cyclone Penelope. I think we headed north to Gargano at the right time!

    Best Regards,

    Roy Burnham

Leave a Reply

