A Photo is Worth…..

Many if not all of you will I’m sure be thinking, here he is bouncing his way around the Salento and he hasn’t bothered to post a single picture so we might enjoy what he is so poorly attempting to describe.

Well I have done it yet again. Left my camera on the arm of the chair by the door where I put it so I wouldn’t forget it. It seems I am a serial camera forgetter  especially when I really want to have one with me. I do know that I should at least have a phone that takes photos butI don’t.

I forgot my camera on my first safari in Kenya and must be the only guy that went around three game parks with an instamatic non zoom camera I had quickly bought in the hotel shop in Nairobi. What is impressive though is that friends always ask what zoom setting I was using on what they assume was a top notch camera  when they look at the photo I have of an elephant that in fact had charged the jeep we were in . It was that close the tiny instamatic captured the whole beast.

I also forgot my camera on my honeymoon and again bought a cheap disposable in Rio. More embarrassing was that the 8 photos on the roll ran out just after the day tour of Rio sights started. South African Airways had kindly arranged the tour just for the two of  us and so I had to pretend to take photos of the  Sugarloaf, Corcovado etc and the poor guide kept asking why I was only taking one photo each time. Little did he know.

Last night we stayed in Vignacastrisi at Agriturismo Vignavecchia  and were amazed to find in the main Piazza in town a small bar ( called Louis) with comfortable seating and offering a range of cocktails and “normal” drinks.  After our lunch experience it restored our faith  when the owner offered to guide us to the local pizza place as it was hard to find. La Stua was superb and very reasonable €4 for a pizza €4 for a litre of wine.

I always try to scout out a place when we arrive and had tried without success to find La Stua by following the hand written signs that were stuck on various lamposts etc.. I find signposting in Italy a little like the USA where I always thought they were put up with people who actually knew the way in mind.  Here as you roar around the race track that is the Bari by pass with traffic to your left and right all doing 120 kph. It is disconcerting to find that the green  sign for A14, the only autostrada out of town and the artery for traffic to both Naples and the whole of the North, is tied onto the lampost right on the exit. Miss it and you are toast. The converse of that is placing the exit sign just before an exit that goes nowhere. You assume it is like the A14 sign and slap on the anchors  and roar off the autostrada to find yourself in the middle of an old olive grove instead of on the expected main road. You are then faced with getting back onto the Autostrada or if you are male, driving on and on many miles down the country lane hopeful that you can “cut across country” and find the road you had hoped to exit on. It is of course a pipe dream and at some stage tail between the legs you admit defeat and shock horror drama turn around much to the delight of your wife.

We set off this morning to go to Leuca and then up the west coast of Puglia.,signposts willing. I wonder what they are like on this Route 66 trip

 

About hereinpuglia

Retired to Puglia after some 40 years in the travel industry working for P&O Lines, British Airways, Alamo rent-a-car,Abercrombie&Kent, owner of Quest Tours and Travel and finally with Thomas Cook North America. Married to Geraldine we now have a small house with too much land near the town of Martina Franca in Puglia. Two kids one married and living in Hong Kong and the other single and living in London. No dogs, no cats no animals.
This entry was posted in Driving in Italy, Expat Italy, Ferries From Bari, Puglia, Puglia Beaches, Puglia Cooking, Puglia Food, Puglia Guide, Puglia Lifestyle, Puglia Living, Puglia Travel Information and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Photo is Worth…..

  1. Hi Mike – I’m spending a week in Puglia during September and have the south coast road trip from Otranto to Gallipoli on the definitely-to-do list….La Stua sounds like somewhere worth seeking out and I’ll be interested to hear how the rest of your journey turns out. Keep up the good work with the blog.

    • hereinpuglia says:

      Yes La Stua is worth finding. The girl that takes orders and works the till loves to speak English and is very good. The owner and his wife love the business and the pizza maker came over to the table as I had left about a quarter of my huge pizza and asked if everything was okay and was there something wrong with the pizza. Super service at a great price.
      Mike

Leave a Reply

