Stay Connected

I was reading a blog this morning that I go to occasionally who was bemoaning his fall in readership. He writes about the EU and is basically opposed to it hook line and sinker.He however still felt it important to have a blog with a clear view and subject matter, nothing wishy washy. Later I read an article by Matthew Parris saying how it was clear that people  no longer hold clear cut views  they are more pragmatic and see some good in things and some bad . Be clearly opposed to some thing or pro it at your peril these days he wrote. So I guess that is why the blogger is  losing his readers, he is too one sided and people don’t see only bad in say the EU.

Now I started writing this blog just as everyone else was switching to Twitter so I, of course, spent my walk this morning thinking about having some kind of purpose to the blog just as everyone else was going wishy washy ! Actually the only thing I came up with was to try to reflect changes that are happening in Puglia in terms of leaping into the 1990’s !

I have met many ex-pats here who really want the place to stay as it is but my short career in teaching English has shown me that that might be lovely for us but is really bad for the youth down here.  We are actually off to an end of term party tonight as the students have decided to take July and August off. The teachers (us) had no say in it but we were handsomely bribed with an array of hair products by my barbers that meant we were happy to carry off the booty and hit the beach for two months.

Okay I know it’s Seville but Rossini was Italian and it’s not my fault he didn’t write it about the Barber of Villa Castelli is it.

So having thought up a theme which of course you know I will never stick to as I am not that kind of person I looked around for examples of Puglia leaping into the 1990’s. Hmm.

But then I walked past a house and noticed a car outside with huge advertising hoarding all over the doors. Martina Franca Car Rental no less. I had a look on their website ( yes a website with a booking engine) and realised here was my first example. In the past to rent a car we drove to Brindisi Airport and rented there. Now suddenly a whole new world has opened up. these guys have a good choice of cars from little Smarts to big Alfa Romeos and at seemingly good prices.

On an earlier post I talked about the problem with the buses being so regional that to get a bus 8 kms but having to cross a commune line took 3 hours as nothing connected . Yesterday sitting still nursing my hornet sting (!) in the bar I noticed several of these 8/9 seat mini vans driving past. The bar is very salubrious in that you sit almost on the main road to enjoy the beer with just a hint of CO2 to add to the flavour. Anyway I asked one of my fellow imbibers what they were. Well at the moment he said you have to find enough like minded souls wanting to go to the same place but when you do you phone these guys and they will take you to your destination at a great low price. However he added it looks like they will soon be taking just individuals and picking up others en route. So another jump for Martina Franca especially as the companies doing this appear to be growing like topsy. Only last year it was almost impossible to get a ride to say Brindisi to catch a flight without taking out a mortgage on the house now there are a load of eager drivers.

Folks we are on the move. One area though we have not advanced is the internet. Many businesses including loads of shops take these two weeks in July as holiday. They of course pack up and move out here to the country and bring the mobile phones with them. My internet then comes and goes and the air in the house goes blue as I realise that about 20 mins ago the signal went off. It drives me mad and more so when I read the government thinks the market is saturated with suppliers and needs to be reduced by allowing the giant almost still government owned telephone company to buy up the competition. TIM as their mobile arm is called is non existent in the country around here nor do they make any attempt to do anything about it. A move to reduce ” competition” would be disastrous for Puglia and would  knock us back into the Dark Ages again.

 

About hereinpuglia

Retired to Puglia after some 40 years in the travel industry working for P&O Lines, British Airways, Alamo rent-a-car,Abercrombie&Kent, owner of Quest Tours and Travel and finally Thomas Cook. Married to Geraldine we now have a small house with too much land near the town of Martina Franca in Puglia. Two kids one married and living in Hong Kong and the other single and living in London. No dogs, no cats no animals.
This entry was posted in Driving in Italy, Expat Italy, Ferries From Bari, Puglia, Puglia Beaches, Puglia Food, Puglia Guide, Puglia Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

