Big One Too

The storm yesterday drove my strimming partner off to the bar but he left his strimmer here in the shed. So this morning when he failed to join by 10 a.m. I wheeled the beauty out and after a few problems fired it into life. Now I had a big one too and my only frustration was there was no one to blow grass cutting at.

big one too

 

My only concern was that after about 30 mins of work it started to lose power and then kept cutting out on me. So I have quietly put it back in the shed and mum’s the word okay?

Just as an aside I was reading another blog this morning . It is written by a guy who walks  on the Yorkshire Moors which I also love . Anyway he is in Greece on his hols at the moment on some small island and they were letting off fireworks which are home made and basically are small bombs that make a deafening noise when they go off. He tagged explosion, bomb making and dynamite on his blog without thinking. He received more views that night than he normally gets in a month and the views are growing everyday. All are from search engines. What kind of society are we producing. Oh and no I am not tagging those words ! Mind you more views in a day ……….. !

The clouds gathered again after I hid the strimmer and went back to playing with my boys one and so  we sang a song

and then decamped to the coast for the afternoon. This time to Villanova Di Ostuni a pleasant small marina village on the coast and down the road from Ostuni the white city.

Villlanova

There are some nice harbourside bars

Harbour Bars

 

but we like it because if you drive south out of town you reach some rocky outcrops where you can swim off the rocks and parking is free etc. There are no lidos down there but a few enterprising guys arrive each June and build bars with loos attached so you can drink etc. and not use the sea if you catch my drift.

swim from rocks

 

You need good strong beach shoes to get in to the water but it is as you can see beautifully clear once you are in. No I didn’t go in. I put my toe in and decided it is still some way off but the guys on the boat you can see in the photo above did  (click on it for a bigger image) and said it was glorious but I think they were lying. There are a number of small beaches ( and I mean small) dotted along that area so you can put up your sun shade and chairs and more sedately enter the water rather than my oh, ah, christ that hurt, ouch that was my toe, approach over the rocks.

Small Beaches

The town council thoughtfully come and take all the seaweed away in June and they were busy doing that today. They have also laid a very nice gravel pathway for some 5 miles that runs along the coast and is a great walk or jogging path  it you are that way inclined. Cars are banned which is of course is a red rag to a bull to an Italian driver so trust me you will meet cars along the pathway. They will move huge boulders, dig through earth embankments just to be able to defy the official sign that says no cars and I love ’em for it.

It’s a small world isn’t it. I have been waxing eloquently on about Mola di Bari over the last few days and then read today that almost all ( Sam obviously excepted) the migrants that sailed across the Atlantic from Mola di Bari, and there were thousands it seems , went to live in an area of South Brooklyn, New York know as Carroll Gardens and I have been there and had a beer there. But of course then I had no idea about Mola Di Bari though probably the guy standing next to me in that bar hailed from there or his Dad did.

I was a purser cadet on board S.S. Orcades in 1967 and we sailed into Los Angeles and went to Disneyland. I had never seen anything like it being used to the fun fairs in the UK and It’s A Small World was the first ride we went on. The tune however stayed with you for days especially as every other passenger on board obviously did the same ride and was humming it too. Luckily a few nights in Acapulco a couple of days later with rum at 20p a bottle erased it from my memory until now. It’s a small world after all, it’s a small world after all. Oh no.

 

 

About hereinpuglia

Retired to Puglia after some 40 years in the travel industry working for P&O Lines, British Airways, Alamo rent-a-car,Abercrombie&Kent, owner of Quest Tours and Travel and finally with Thomas Cook North America. Married to Geraldine we now have a small house with too much land near the town of Martina Franca in Puglia. Two kids one married and living in Hong Kong and the other single and living in London. No dogs, no cats no animals.
This entry was posted in Driving in Italy, Expat Italy, Ferries From Bari, Puglia, Puglia Living, Puglia Travel Information and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

