Frustazione

No prizes for guessing the title above in English. 50% of English words derive from Latin and 98%of Italian words derive from Latin so the old comedy sketches with the English tourist adding an ‘o’ to everything he says  in English to an Italian isn’t always so silly. You can often guess a word.

Living in Italy can be frustante ( doing well at this language aren’t you ) and yesterday was such a day. You remember my Suzuki Jeep needed a part ( Stormy Tuesday  post please keep up) . Well on Friday morning Suzuki Taranto phoned and said i pezzi (the parts) had arrived. When do you open this afternoon . 14.30 was the reply so off I set to collect them. Now this weekend was forecasted to be a stunner, warm windless days and just right for the open top jeep tooling around the countryside and maybe a trip to the beach through my shortcut route that needs a jeep. So ” I went full of curiosity and the faint, unrecognized apprehension that here, at last, I should find that low door in the wall, which others, I knew, had found before me, which opened on an enclosed and enchanted garden, which was somewhere, not overlooked by any window, in the heart of that grey city.”  Well not really that over the top but certainly humming this as I drove

I arrived at 14.40 and to the counter I went . The guy was not Francesco who I saw on Monday so I had to go through the story all over again . He wandered off and gave the shelves a cursory glance and was back. Not here.  I stood my ground and gave him an Italian shrug. He went back and studied the shelves a little more closely and returned to give me his own shrug. Stand off time ! Where is Francesco I asked . Lunch he said. Aspetto ( I wait). Another shrug. By 3 p.m. he had been joined by another guy and we went through the same performance with the same outcome. By 3.30 I was wondering if my stand was a waste of time when down the ramp came another Fiat driven by Francesco. I also realised that not a soul who worked for Suzuki drove one I was the only mug who did. He greeted me like a long lost brother walked over to the nearest shelf and removed a package and gave it to me. I pezzi he said.  The other two said in unison they were just mechanics. I took the package and turned to leave when the head mechanic maybe realising he looked a little stupid asked to see the parts. I gave him the package and he spread them out. These are for a diesel jeep he said. I have a petrol one said I . Triumphantly he said they wouldn’t fit nor work. Francesco now looked suitably contrite as he was well aware mine was petrol driven and re-ordered the new part. I did see the package was covered in stickers which I guessed meant” handle with care” Cue the Wilburys:

As it turns out they were wrong about certainly Saturday weatherwise. Lots of cloud and a steady wind so on my worksheet for the day was an item ” please clean out the draws by your desk so we might close them and not trip over them.” Or that is the gist of what was written though maybe a tad more forcibly. Now I do find throwing things away a problem. Actually it’s not a problem I don’t throw anything away. So it was a voyage of discovery as I went through the draws intent on moving the stuff to another hiding place elsewhere. At the bottom of one draw I found my old Blackberry how odd it looked , such a small screen and no apps etc. The bees knees when I first had it, checking e mails every couple of seconds and watching for the flashing light on the top that indicated another e mail had arrived. Business lunches with everyone at the table with a Blackberry on the table. Mind you they did go wrong as Ronnie Corbett knows

“I should like to bury something precious in every place where I’ve been happy and then, when I’m old and ugly and miserable, I could come back and dig it up and remember.”

Think I know what  to do with the old  Blackberry bury it. Oh hang on I am old now. Indeed my Old Age Pension arrived in my bank yesterday for the first time as did my Social Security Old Age Pension from the USA ( I worked there to 10 years too ) Weirdly they both come from the same bank in New York. I wonder why the UK one comes from there ?

Well ‘time to say goodbye’ for today and thank you Evelyn Waugh for the quotes.

 

 

 

 

About hereinpuglia

Retired to Puglia after some 40 years in the travel industry working for P&O Lines, British Airways, Alamo rent-a-car,Abercrombie&Kent, owner of Quest Tours and Travel and finally with Thomas Cook North America. Married to Geraldine we now have a small house with too much land near the town of Martina Franca in Puglia. Two kids one married and living in Hong Kong and the other single and living in London. No dogs, no cats no animals.
This entry was posted in Expat Italy, Puglia, Puglia Food, Puglia Guide, Puglia Lifestyle, Puglia Living, Puglia Travel Information and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

