Vowels and Consonants and The Italian Language

Well my daughter picked up my error in referring to the two p’s in Cappucino as vowels not consonants. And me a Countdown fan when in the UK  where contestants pick vowels and consonants  randomly and then have to make up words sometimes amusingly.

What chance do I have therefore in mastering this Italian language that has tenses called past anterior and imperfect progressive. There is even one to convey that fact in the sentence ” If I go to Rome I  would buy you a book” the  actual meaning is I have no intention of going . Then why say it say I.

It is not an easy language there seem multiple words that mean the same. Take the word face. Viso means face , faccia means face and volto means face so which one do you use ? Well it seems it depends on which area of Italy you are in and what you want to say about a face.

Non means not as in say “mi non piace” – “I do not like it” actually literally in English it mean “me it likes not” but let’s brush over that.

So yesterday I hear on the radio a lady say to another “mi fa un baffo ” Now again literally that means “me it makes a mustache” so to the dictionary I went. It actually means ” I could not give a damn ” Now can you see non in that sentence anywhere. The defense rests.

One benefit is I now know how to say in Italian that great line from Gone with the Wind that Clark Gable as Rett Butler utters  :

 

 

About hereinpuglia

Retired to Puglia after some 40 years in the travel industry working for P&O Lines, British Airways, Alamo rent-a-car,Abercrombie&Kent, owner of Quest Tours and Travel and finally with Thomas Cook North America. Married to Geraldine we now have a small house with too much land near the town of Martina Franca in Puglia. Two kids one married and living in Hong Kong and the other single and living in London. No dogs, no cats no animals.
This entry was posted in Puglia Guide, Puglia Lifestyle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

