Snow

Snow this morning

 

They said it might snow and they were right. Gone by 10 a.m. but very cold wind blowing straight from Poland. Brrr.

My daughter in Hong Kong kindly sent me a package of stuff that I had asked for. She sent it UPS door to door delivery and supplied me with a tracking number. Simple you would say wait for the smiling UPS man to arrive at the front door and sign for it. This is how they advertise isn’t it.

They even show Italy in the ad and look at that happy person at the end hugging her UPS uniformed delivery man. However this is Southern Italy. It is important to understand that UPS like their other competitors believe that Italy starts in the Alps and stretches all the way down to err Rome and no further. So with interest I watched my package leave HKG and fly to Dubai then on to Germany ( who knows !) and finally arrive in Rome on Thursday afternoon. By Friday morning it had arrived in Bari though not with UPS but with a freelance operator that they all use for packages coming down to the “darkside” !!

No cheerful UPS liveried man showed up on Friday and all of a sudden on Friday evening a note appeared on the tracking site saying the driver couldn’t deliver ‘cos the address was incomplete. A phone call to UPS in Milano this morning  lasted some 30 minutes. Your address is incomplete. No you have the street name, the number, the nearest town and the post code what more can you need. ? Something must be missing. No that is how my post is delivered using that information. You must have an apartment then in the house. No it is my house in the countryside ( fatal mistake I had overplayed my hand). Countryside , can you see your house from the road? No but the post-lady comes down the driveway ( another fatal error ! ) . What is the name of your driveway? I haven’t named it yet ( how many people name their private driveways I thought). Ah that is why we cannot deliver I will have the driver phone you to arrange a pick up point he cannot be expected to drive around looking for un-named driveways we have a business to run up here in Italy. This afternoon the driver phoned ( not UPS but another freelance guy ) Let me give you directions said I. Don’t bother I’m not wasting time coming out you will meet me on Monday in Martina Franca. Oh okay where do you want to meet ? I’ll phone you Monday and tell you when and where. Ah the joys of dealing with customer driven companies  ! Watch this space as I try to do a John Le Carre type handover at a checkpoint of his liking.

About hereinpuglia

Retired to Puglia after some 40 years in the travel industry working for P&O Lines, British Airways, Alamo rent-a-car,Abercrombie&Kent, owner of Quest Tours and Travel and finally with Thomas Cook North America. Married to Geraldine we now have a small house with too much land near the town of Martina Franca in Puglia. Two kids one married and living in Hong Kong and the other single and living in London. No dogs, no cats no animals.
This entry was posted in Puglia Lifestyle and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

